A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

409207  Title:  A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)

  Author: George R. R. Martin

  Genre: Epic Fantasy

  Format: Mass market paperback, 807 pages

 

 

 

First of all, I need to warn you that this is a re-read, meaning that when I read it I paid more attention to the details that I had had before. I first read GoT 3 years ago, after the show had come out, and I proceeded to devour all five books in an instant. Obviously, I didn’t paid much attention to details has I should have, and because of the translation (I only had the books in Portuguese) I think I lost a lot of vital information. Before re-reading the book, I thought that it would take me ages to do it, because I already knew the end, but the opposite happened; I read it in a rush because all of my old “friends” were there waiting for me, to help me remember why I love George Martin so much. So here I am, 3 years later, re-reading the whole 5 books, in English, and praying that when I finish them, Mr. Martin will have the next one ready *fingers crossed*.

Before reading my review you should be aware that trying to describe and explain this series to someone who doesn’t know them is a little bit like trying to describe the world without spoiling it: almost impossible. So what I may write probably make any sense, but believe me this is a masterpiece that you need to read.

For those of you, who don’t know this series (where have you been living??) they’re about a fictional world much similar to ours in the medieval time but with a tad of magic and uncomprehending mystery. In this volume we stumble upon an apparently strong kingdom where peace prevails (as much as it possibly can). The book starts with the death of Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, that makes the king, Robert Baratheon, have to travel North and ask Lord Eddard Stark to take Arryn’s place. Eddard Stark, aka Ned, is one of my favorite characters ever due to his conviction that what is right must prevail. When Ned travels South to take his place as Hand of the King, we start getting the feeling that not everything is how it is supposed to be… First we have the Lannisters, the family of the queen, ruthless, wealthy and very arrogant; Queen Cersei is one of those characters that you just love to hate, all her stuffy pose and fake smiles. Then there is the Imp, Tyrion Lannister, the dwarf brother of the queen (personally I would just give him the kingdom and be done with that), always underestimated and mocked because of his disabilities, he becomes one of the most smart and interested figures of the family(and of the realm). And to finish we have Daenerys Targaryen, the princess who ran with her brother Viserys to the Free Cities after Robert Baratheon took the throne form her father 15 years ago, and who now poses a threat to the throne; because of the show I forget how young she is in the book, what makes me admire her even more, this is a character that after so many years finally decides to take “the reins”(literally) and really own her life (if you already read the books you will understand me). These are just a small fraction of the crucial characters introduce in this volume, believe there are much more important ones who you will fall and love/hate. I can’t tell much more without basically taking all the fun from the story, but one thing I can tell you: “when you play the game of thrones you win or you die”.

Just for those of you who already read this masterpiece: because this is a re-read I decided to make some notes of important events that I never really gave much thought. First of all we really get to see how much Sansa lives in the clouds, with her dreams of beautiful knights saving her from the could of the North, and that as long as she has her prince everything will be all right. Really I just want to punch her in the face and tell her to wake up, because guess what: you get your father killed. Then there is the whole story behind Jon’s mother, who I really never gave much thought, but after this re-read I really can tell that I agree with popular opinion of who she is, there are just to many hints about it. And last but not least, there is Catelyn, a character that I really never gave much though about but that now has my full attention, she is a kickass woman, and Sansa should really follow her steps. So here they are. my thoughts about this book, at least the ones that I can put in words… because really there isn’t enough time for me to really dissect this book (there are 4 more waiting for me in the shelf!)

★★★★★

Rita Viegas

Leave a Reply

