PSA: Two new K.J. Parker Stories and a New Trilogy!

I will not stop proselytising the religion of author K.J. Parker until her books are read and appreciated by millions of readers worldwide. Fine, maybe not millions of readers, but K.J. Parker is an author that is so criminally underappreciated by genre readers that were I a conspiracy nut, I would angrily shout that there are malevolent forces at play here. That I have only started reading Parker’s work in the last month is irrelevant, or it makes my case even stronger;  it is enough time to come to terms with the sheer amount of intellectual power and dry humour she brings to the table in her books.

Devices and DesiresAnd as so, I have taken up the task of recommending her fiction to those who care to listen. It’s the best and only thing that I, as a reader, can do to positively impact an author that I care about. (Unrelated addendum: Why is it that we don’t see millionaires financing the careers of authors they like? Is patronage a thing of the past? If so, why)

Those who want to start reading her work, two new stories have been published online by both Subterranean Press, whose Subterranean Online has published a wide amount of Parker’s stories, and that has come to an end, and Beneath Ceaseless Skies. Almost all of her shorter fiction has also been recently collected in the Academic Exercises anthology, which I hereby bet with everyone that it will win a bunch of anthology awards (the World Fantasy Award is a given).

Additionally, and far far more exciting, the first details of her newest trilogy have finally surfaced. Slated for a February 2015 release, The Invincible Sun looks like it will be the first K.J. Parker novel to be featured in the world that she has been building throughout her shorter fiction. For those new to her work, The Invincible Sun is the name of the God and main religion in this world, the only world by her that features overt magical elements. If it proves to be the case that the book’s story will indeed be set in this world , The Invincible Sun will be the first K.J. Parker novel to feature her original magic system. The creation of The Invincible Sun is the subject of her stupendous story “The Sun and I”.

As you can tell, I am beyond excited for this new trilogy and everything that this author does next. Give her work a chance, you will not regret it.

One thought on “PSA: Two new K.J. Parker Stories and a New Trilogy!”

  1. K.J. Parker is awesome, one of my favorite writers. I am waiting for this new novel for quite some time now, but then again, I had K.J. Parker’s excellent short stories to keep me company. 🙂

Leave a comment